Skip to content

Paul N Martin

With none of my prayers answered, I eventually hit breaking point in my late teenage years. Our pastor continued to give homophobic sermons and with each one it felt like a knife going through the middle of my abdomen. Each time a politician or community leader would say something negative about a gay person I felt as though they were condemning me directly. Subsequently, while my same-sex desires intensified, so did my sense of isolation, failure and hopelessness.

Paul N Martin, ‘Christianity and my journey’, Heaven Bent

In 2008 and 2010 Dr Paul N Martin was voted as one of Australia’s 25 Most Influential Gays and Lesbians. He was formerly the principal Psychologist at the Centre for Human Potential in Brisbane and he is currently a Queensland Political Liaison Officer at the Australian Psychological Society.

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

